5 Stages to Passing

The basic sequence of events to obtain an LGV licence is as follows.

Firstly licence classes:-

Cat C is the rigid HGV licence (for vehicles over 7.5 tons gross vehicle weight) equivalent to the old Class 2 licence.

Cat C+E is the articulated HGV licence equivalent to the old Class 1 licence.

Cat C1 and C1+E are for vehicles over 3.5 tons but below 7.5 tons gvw. It costs the same to do these smaller vehicle classes and the test (both theory and practical) is the same. Therefore little point in limiting yourself to this restriction.

The 5 stages to gaining your licence:-

  1. A Medical examination
  2. Apply for a provisional licence
  3. An LGV theory test and hazard perception test
  4. Book a driving course with SCF Driver training and pass the LGV practical test.
  5. Driver CPC qualification (not always required see stage 5).

Please note if you have passed CAT C (old class 2) and want to upgrade your licence to CAT C+E (old class 1) then you only need stage 4.